Our Vision

A Pottuvil area with sustainable development through equatable public service for all communities

Our Mission

Integrating the activities of Divisional Secretariat and co-operation of all communities of the area with which achieving sustainable development through effective and efficiant public service

History of Colombo Divisional Secretariat

Before 1999, Colombo Municipal Council area was regarded as only one Divisional Secretariat Division. Later, this office was divided in to two; namely, Colombo and Thimbirigasyaya. There are 47 urban divisions in Colombo Municipal Council. Though the Grama Niladhari divisions were established according to those urban divisions, another 8 Grama Niladhari divisions were established considering the population density. Accordingly the total no. of Grama Niladhari divisions is 55. Out of those 55, 30 belong to Colombo Divisional Secretariat. According to the 2001 census, Colombo Divisional Secretariat Division had the highest population density which was 377,396. It was estimated to be 425,000 by the year 2005. Since then, this office has faced so many difficulties and developed a mechanism to serve the public more effectively efficiently.

Role performed at DS

Name From To
Reman Perera 1991 1991
A.H.M.P. Abeysinghe 1992 1994
R.A.D. Perera 1994 1996
Vass Siril Gunawardhana 1994 1996
G.A.J Sylvester 1996.08.27 2001.08.31
M.P.E. Rukmani 2001.10.01 2005.01.31
A.J. Karunarathne (Acting) 2005.02.01 2005.06.07
Kanthi Perera 2005.06.08 2007.07.05
A.J. Karunarathne (Acting) 2007.07.06 2008.03.31
K.G. Dharamathilaka 2008.04.01 2013.06.30


MAC.Ahamed Nazeel 2018.09.21  

News & Events



his article is about the human aspects...

Payment : PB 7200601

Payment : PB 7200601

ZONAL EDUCATION OFFICEAMPARA13/01/2016BOCDear Sir/ MadamPlease find herewith...

Scroll To Top